Open Source Samples and Utilities?

Author: tneeskens@itblockz.nl (Theo Neeskens)

I have been making and distributing Uniface samples and utilities for a while now. Usually upload these to my www.box.net account. Then I "spam" the link to my blog, www.uniface.info, the Uniface Group on LinkedIn and the Uniface page on Facebook. This works pretty well, I am getting a nice number of pageviews and downloads.

But since making these samples and utilities is something that I do in my spare time, they are never perfect, and I cannot offer support on them.

Every now and then somebody mails me an improvement, for which I am very gratefull. But it made me think that there must be a better way. I do not want to own and maintain my own website so a public open source platform might be an interesting idea.

I am a total novice at this, but I gave it a first try on SourceForge. You can find the CompileMaster that I published last week also on SourceForge.

Any idea's on how to proceed with this are more than welcome.

4 Comments

1. T.U.R.F. http://hosted.byjones.net/turf/ still alive and kicking
    offers code examples, discussions, enhancements since a lot of years now.

I don't think it is a good idea to make examples really "open source" with all its implications for commercial use.

Author: ulrich-merkel (ulrichmerkel@web.de)

2. T.U.R.F. http://hosted.byjones.net/turf/ still alive and kicking

offers code examples, discussions, enhancements since a lot of years now.

I don't think it is a good idea to make examples really "open source" with all its implications for commercial use.

Hi Uli,

T.U.R.F. and your own initiatives are very positive for the community.
    But I want to take it a step further.
    Platforms like SourceForge offer online version management, call tracking etc.
    And they are in common use for other development languages, so why not ride that wave?

I think I agree with you on not using an open source license for samples.

Regards,

Theo