Having seen the question about WAS, I checked what the OP was talking about and found the "Work Area Support" utility. 

We've been using uniface for 15 years now, and since the demise of the UVS version control, we've had no formal version control in place. So I have zero experience of using the various text-based VC systems this allows us to interface with. (I'm assuming, GIT and others.)

So, it'd be a steep learning curve to start using this in our environment, I was wondering if there was any exemplar documentation as to "best practices" for setting up a system for development by a small number of users either on a shared repository or on how to integrate separate developments into a seamless whole. 

We have a couple of developers, working in a development repository, with a testing repository maintained by export/import and occasional copy of the entire database to catch anything missed, and then two (max three?) 'production' repositories covering the live systems with patches. 

I'd appreciate feedback on what (if any) VC systems are good for use with the WAS and give some documentation of changes (in which we could add a ticket number for example). And what is possible in terms of separating and integrating specific changes across versions (new functions stay in development/testing, but fixes may need to be rolled to previous versions for patching.... 

CommentAdd your comment...

1 answer

Hi Iain,

It's too big a topic to give a very detailed answer here, but i'll try to give some initial pointers based on my personal experience (none of which constitutes endorsement of any kind!):

• Using WAS, you will need to have standalone sandbox environments (e.g. local environments using sqlite)