Anywhere sessions

Author: tomas.hogvag@abilita.fi (thogvag)

Hi, I have a question regarding sessions in Uniface Anywhere. Under what circumstances does the client start a new session on the host? We are using the Windows client and have a startup shortcut "C:\Program Files (x86)\Uniface\Uniface Anywhere Client\Client\ua-client.exe" -h server -c -u username -p password - When I close the program window, it says the session and programs will remain active on the server - when I restart the connection from the same machine with the same startup Icon, a new session starts on the server This causes the printers to get a new name (a (2) added on the printer queue name) and they don't work from our application We have tried to get around this by limiting the sessions to 1 per user on the host and telling the customer not to close the program window instead use File - Sign out if they close the program window. What's puzzling is that this behaviour seems to be different on our test host. When I close the Program Window and reconnect with the Startup Icon it resumes the previous session. (Uniface Anywhere 5)

7 Comments

  1. Hi Tomas, when the server has not completely closed the "old" connection to the client, their is a small change that it will see the new session request from the same client machine, indeed as a new session request. More logical explanation to your customers issue, is when they use the same username/password combination for multiple users on different machines. To avoid mixing up sessions and reconnect issue, you will have to place these shared usernames (separated by ; ) in the Shared account box that you can find in the General Tab of the Host Options in the Cluster Manager of that server. regards, Nico


    Author: Nico Peereboom (nico.peereboom@uniface.com)
  2. Hi, there seem to be a global setting "Max sessions per users". Is it possible to restrict max sessions to "1" for some usernames and allow more sessions for other usernames? Regards RogerW. PS. I've to admit that I haven't read the manual and the question could be somehow premature.


    Author: rogerw (roger.wallin@abilita.fi)
  3. Nico Peereboom said Hi Tomas, when the server has not completely closed the "old" connection to the client, their is a small change that it will see the new session request from the same client machine, indeed as a new session request. More logical explanation to your customers issue, is when they use the same username/password combination for multiple users on different machines. To avoid mixing up sessions and reconnect issue, you will have to place these shared usernames (separated by ; ) in the Shared account box that you can find in the General Tab of the Host Options in the Cluster Manager of that server. regards, Nico  

    Thanks for the answer, We have tested a bit with setting the shared usernames and know how it works now. The only time we got the printer queues to change name was when we started two sessions with the same user from the same machine (this was regardless of the shared users setting) I suspect in the customers case they must had started several sessions without us noticing. best regards Tomas


    Author: thogvag (tomas.hogvag@abilita.fi)
  4. Hi, having tested this with Tomas I continue on this topic. Both having user in "Shared account" or not, means that logging in with the same user from another client machine will start a new session (when the first started is also active). Then I suppose that these two sessions consume two Uniface licenses? To avoid that this user is able to consume two Uniface licenses, we probably have to put "Max sessions per user=1". It would however be appropriate allowing some users to use many sessions ie. many Uniface licenses. Is this possible? Regards RogerW   Testing "Shared account": Shared account: TestUser TestUser log in from ClientPC1, new session started TestUser on ClientPC1 starts Application TestUser log in from ClientPC2, new sesssion started TestUser sign out from ClientPC2 TestUser on ClientPC1 stops "Anywhere client window" and gets message that Application will also stop. TestUser log in from ClientPC2, new sesssion started TestUser log in from ClientPC1, new session started Shared account: None TestUser log in from ClientPC1, new session started TestUser on ClientPC1 starts Application TestUser log in from ClientPC2, new sesssion started TestUser sign out from ClientPC2 TestUser on ClientPC1 stops "Anywhere client window" and gets message that Application will continue to run. TestUser log in from ClientPC2, and gets the session started on ClientPC1 TestUser log in from ClientPC1, new session started


    Author: rogerw (roger.wallin@abilita.fi)
  5. rogerw said Hi, there seem to be a global setting "Max sessions per users". Is it possible to restrict max sessions to "1" for some usernames and allow more sessions for other usernames? Regards RogerW. PS. I've to admit that I haven't read the manual and the question could be somehow premature.  

    Hi Roger, Sorry, but the answer to this is 'no'.  The "max sessions per user" will also have effect on the user(s) mentioned in the "shared accounts". Regards, Nico


    Author: Nico Peereboom (nico.peereboom@uniface.com)
  6. rogerw said Hi, having tested this with Tomas I continue on this topic. Both having user in "Shared account" or not, means that logging in with the same user from another client machine will start a new session (when the first started is also active). Then I suppose that these two sessions consume two Uniface licenses? To avoid that this user is able to consume two Uniface licenses, we probably have to put "Max sessions per user=1". It would however be appropriate allowing some users to use many sessions ie. many Uniface licenses. Is this possible? Regards RogerW

    Hi Roger, every Uniface Anywhere session will claim ONE concurrent license. However, within one Uniface Anywhere session you can start multiple Uniface sessions which will all be counted as one by the Uniface License Manager. Regards, Nico


    Author: Nico Peereboom (nico.peereboom@uniface.com)
  7. Hi Nico, and thanks for the answer. This was approx what I thought. Just to know that I think right: As you charge us for Uniface licenses (Anywhere) and we host many one user customers and charge them, the only way to keep them using only one session is to put “Max sessions per user=1”? By that we make it impossible to use more sessions for some customers or ourselves, ie. having to make a user for every username also for bigger customer, eg. 100 user customers? Is it possible to install more than one "Uniface Anywhere Server" on the same physical server? We thought about using a large license-pool in our name. But by using a license for each customer logging on to the Uniface Anywhere server, one could probably prevent customers to consume more Uniface licenses than they are allowed to? There are probably no license of any kind consumed as they start an Anywhere session, I mean before they have started the Uniface application? Regards RogerW.


    Author: rogerw (roger.wallin@abilita.fi)